Faculty of Humanities & Social Sciences

Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences (FHSS) consists of four distinct departments, namely Department of Languages & General Studies, Department of Journalism & Communication Studies, Department of Education and Department of Psychology and Counselling. The Faculty offers one Postgraduate programme, four Bachelor’s Degree programmes, and one Diploma programme. All the programmes have been accredited by the Malaysian Qualifications Agency (MQA) and Ministry of Higher Education (MOHE).


Department of Languages & General Studies

Department of Journalism & Communication Studies

Department of Psychology & Counselling

Department of Education


TV Broadcast Centre

Early Childhood Education Simulation Room – TADIKA

Early Childhood Education Simulation Room – TASKA

Psychological & Counselling Lab

In recent years, FHSS has established and maintained sister relationship with colleges/universities worldwide (particularly with those in China, Taiwan & Japan). We engage student exchange programmes, international conferences, collaborative academic activities and joint international research projects as well.

Our academic staff are actively involved in research and development (R&D). The key research areas include cultural and society, new media, communication, language studies, literature, postmodernity, literary theories, cross-cultural studies, world religions and Malaysian studies.

Anitha A/P Thiagarajam

Acting Deputy Dean of Faculty

Head (Dept. of Education)

Making English Sentences with Accuracy

Movie Night

Your Journey, Your Choices: Self-Discovery Hub

DJC – Visiting Scholar

Career Talk: Nurture Our Future Leaders

Seedling Camp 7.0

Activity Gallery

Open WhatsApp
How can we help you?
Ask Southern University College
Hi 👋
Thank you for reaching out to Southern University College. Click the button below to WhatsApp us and you will be in touch shortly!
Thank you